World Series

2009 MLB World Series

Congratulations to all the participants in the 2009 World Series and especially to the players and fans of the New York Yankees, who won the national championship by defeating the Philadelphia Phillies four games to two to take home their 27th World Series Championship!

Though the 2010 World Series is a ways away, itís never too early to start looking for tickets. Once tickets are in, you can bet that Coast to Coast will have the best selection around, so check back often and be one of the first to score you 2010 World Series tickets!

How did all this World Series history begin? The first World Series between the AL and NL was in 1903. The World Series began when Pittsburgh of the older National League (founded in 1876) invited Boston of the American League (founded in 1901) to play a best-of-9 game series to determine which of the two league champions was the best.

Boston was the surprise winner, 5 games to 3. The 1904 NL champion New York Giants refused to play Boston the following year, so there was no Series. Giants' owner John T. Brush and his manager John McGraw both despised AL president Ban Johnson and considered the junior circuit to be a minor league. By the following year, however, Brush and Johnson had smoothed out their differences and the Giants agreed to play Philadelphia in a best-of-7 game series. Since then the World Series has been a best-of-7 format, except from 1919-21 when it returned to best-of-9.

The 1904 NL champion New York Giants refused to play Boston the following year, so there was no Series.

In 1922 the World Series was broadcast over the radio for the first time. In 1947 the first World Series was televised locally for the first time.

The 1951 World Series was broadcast coast to coast for the first time. The World Series was played between the two New York teams. The New York Giants lost to the Yankees 4-2. Willie Mays had only four hits in the loss.

The World Series was cancelled for only the second time in 1994 due to the players' strike.

Going into the 2008 post season, the New York Yankees have won the World Series 26 times. With their win in 2006, the St. Louis Cardinals have now surpassed the Philadelphia-Oakland A's nine World Series triumphs. The Brooklyn-Los Angeles Dodgers have six under their belt, the Boston Red Sox have eight, and the Cincinnati Reds, New York-San Francisco Giants and Pittsburgh Pirates have five to their credit.

Events by City
Discount Newsletter

Sign up for email updates


Learn More   See Sample

Call Us at:866-353-5167